top of page

Is this food good for me?

When people get to know me and find out my interests and what I study I sometimes get the question - 'is this good/bad for me?'. Especially in relation to food. I find this question a bit hard to answer initially, without knowing the person especially. The first thing I want to know in order to answer is, where is this person coming from? What I mean by this is, what is their stance on health? What are they wanting to achieve with food? What is their perspective? When I am not feeling like getting into depth, I can only assume that they are coming from one of two places - 1. Weight - 'Is this good?', AKA 'will this keep/make me skinny', or bad, AKA 'will this make me fat?' 2. Physical health benefit - 'Is this good?', AKA 'will it provide my body some sort of benefit', or bad, AKA 'Will this damage me now or later on?' So usually I'll answer based off this assumption. But in an ideal world (future me as a qualified naturopath in a clinic), I'd love to explore the individuals emotional health and their perspectives. For example, if they're using food for emotional reasons - think comfort eating, eating out of boredom, eating to acquire weight as a physical manifestation of some desire to hide their body or to rebel against the messages that surround us everyday to look a certain way, to become more accepted...etc. I'd also explore their goals. Are they an athlete, trying to lose or gain weight, trying to increase their focus an concentration, are they wanting to detox, any spiritual goals, do they have issues with energy levels, are they recovering from an illness etc. And then I'll answer the question


RECENT POST
bottom of page