top of page

Stress and chronic stress

About three years ago I contracted glandular fever. It sucked but it was a significant learning curve in so many ways. For example, it came at a time in my life where rest was my last priority, so with its you-have-no-choice-but-to-rest force upon me, it certainly taught me about trusting my body in knowing when to rest. I learnt to listen to my body in relation to sleep, rest and movement/exercise and in effect it has allowed me to let go of my rigidity regarding exercise. Although It was a restful time it was also a time that I was experiencing an extremely stressful living situation and was suffering stress and anxiety for around a year. I was always resting but always stressed. It was strange and took a huge toll on my body. From this though I have gained an interest in the outcome of long time endured stress and I want to write a little bit about it - The biological and situational stress I am referring to is (according to Baum, 1990) 'any uncomfortable "emotional experience accompanied by predictable biochemical, physiological and behavioral changes." Stress can be caused by what are known as stressors which can be emotional, mental, physical, dietary and environmental - Environmental stressors include - - Mould - Chemicals - Radiation - Pollution Physical stressors include - - Exercise - Illness and disease - Pain

- Sudden change in temperature - Poor sleep and light cycle disruption Emotional and mental stressors include - - Fear - Grief - Worry - Perfectionism - Life events - Being hard on yourself

Dietary stressors - - Processed food - Lack of fibre - Dehydration - This stressor is incredibly individual. I could list gluten, refined sugar, animal products, anything on trend...but I think a lot of these things (although scientifically credible and definitely real and I am absolutely not writing them off), I believe also are related to your relationship with food, beliefs surrounding food, diet, how you feel about your body, why you eat and the culture you are in. Another one I want to mention is caffeine. Caffeine induces a stress response in relation to hormones, namely cortisol. Cortisol is an important hormone with several roles including blood sugar metabolism, blood pressure, insulin secretion, immunity and inflammation. Excess cortisol levels effects the above functions, the thyroid, bone density and lowers immunity, to list a few. I personally feel the effects of regular caffeine consumption and ideally choose not to consume high amounts of caffeine daily. When I practice this my stress levels are easier to regulate and I don't end up anxious, overwhelmed and on the verge of becoming ill. My energy is sustained, allowing me to do what I need to do most days. Basically, for the sake of my stress levels I don't like to rely on caffeine. When I don't rely on caffeine I can use it as a tool for when I really need it (before an exam, to smash out something, to concentrate at a new job etc.). The sustained energy, regular sleep cycle and ability to know when I am energised or ready to sleep (because it is not clouded by the physiological effects of caffeine) are worth sacrificing the daily ritual and deliciousness. Also, I want to touch on worry. I value health but can become too concerned about my own health, to the point of worry. To worry about my health becomes a health issue. Worry creates a stress response and then I suffer from the effects of stress. So to value my health requires that I don't worry, rather I focus on the health I do have and do what I can for what may be of concern in the present. Anywho, I digress. Stress isn't necessarily a negative occurrence. For example, exercise as a stressor is also amazing for your body and emotional health. Stress is biological and natural, it is going to happen and denying it, suppressing it or thinking you can 'get rid of it' is not going to serve you. Stress is there as an indicator, to tell you something, to push you through your work by motivating and energising you, to increase focus and to let you know that perhaps this isn't for you if it's recurring. Which brings me to chronic stress. When stressed there is a response from several systems in your body. This includes the immune system which becomes reduced in its response, the cardiovascular system, the endocrine system (hormones – adenosine, epinphrine, cortiol and dopamine), the digestive system, the lymphatic system and your emotional health. When the body and its systems are enduring stress for a prolonged amount of time (which makes it chronic), the body does not cope as optimally as it can. Chronic stress can lead to many outcomes - - Disease - Energy maintenance - Adrenal consequences - Digestive system issues - Impaired sensitivity to insulin and therefore blood sugar control is impeded.. - Reduced muscle - Reduced the mucosal defence layer and cells of the immune system. - Liver function It is okay to feel stressed. It is not okay to let the stress prolong. Prevention of prolonged stress is one way of going about this. Regular practices can reduce the likelihood of stress becoming ongoing. My personal practices include yoga and guided meditation most days of the week, breathing, tuning into and listening to my body, feeding myself well and moving my body. I also take an adaptogenic herb known as Withania somnifera (AKA Ashwaghanda) which has made a world of difference. Yoga is one that is most important to me because it purposefully puts your body into a 'stressful' position and you learn to breathe through it. I don't really like to say what not to do but another one for me is reducing alcohol and caffeine consumption when I especially need to relax or am going through a stressful time. Catch out the stress early, or identify when it has become ongoing before it can manifest into major health issues. Resources - Baum, A. 1990 - Stress, intrusive imagery, and chronic distress Timmins, W, 2011 - The chronic stress crisis Lectures from uni


RECENT POST
bottom of page