top of page

Breakfast as the 'most important meal of the day'

Breakfast as the most important meal... In a previous post, or perhaps rant is a better way to describe that particular entry - I wrote about how people ask me 'is this good/healthy...', in relation to food. I get asked other questions like this when people become aware of my interest and studies of nutrition and wholistic health. Another one is the message that is drilled into our heads that breakfast is the most important meal of the day - 'I always eat breakfast, that's good right?'... Before I write this just know that this is purely my opinion. My view on this is not black and white. I understand and believe the research behind this is credible. It's not a widely known public health message for no good reason, or with an ulterior motive - unlike those messages that are there primarily for marketing and profit. For example, unregulated use of language on labelling for food packages (I am speaking for Australia here and am unaware of international labelling laws). Words like 'natural'...Oh and messages like 'eat clean' but no explanation as to what that means and no room for middle ground. Eating clean comes across so extreme to me...I suppose this example isn't a public health example but it certainly has a widely reached population (like public health) thanks to social media...anyway, I digress. I think breakfast is an important meal, or rather, I think the first meal of the day is an important meal. But I think if you are not hungry at what would culturally and/or habitually be considered 'breakfast time' then it is not necessary to eat. Simply put, listen to your body and its hunger cues. For me breakfast time is the time that I become hungry after I wake up. For example, I wake up at 6.30 am and don’t eat until 9am, but some days I wake up hungry and eat shortly after rising. This idea I suppose comes with my philosophy and practice of being in tune with my body. I know my body knows best and when I try to intellectualise my eating patterns and habits I usually end up disconnected from my body's messages, confused and hungry or finding myself eating when I am not even hungry, which s a huge energy drainer for me. I eat when I feel like eating, not when I think I should eat. And so ends this post that is again, a rant!


RECENT POST
bottom of page